About Me

Hi there, here is a little bit about me….

I grew up in Kingston, Ontario but I have lived in Montreal, Vancouver and Skagway, Alaska. I currently reside in Toronto, which has always felt like home to me.  I love to travel and see the world!

I work full-time Monday to Friday as a technical administrator for a luxury jewelry company, which is why I am only available for weekend ceremonies.  Previously, I worked for the British Columbia Provincial School for the Deaf for three years.  I have an undergraduate degree from the University of Toronto, as well as two college diplomas.

I was married on October 1st, 2017 so I understand the stresses associated with planning a wedding, big or small. You may notice two different last names on some of my marketing material, I am in “last name transition” -from Loyst to Hijmans.

My own wedding was officiated by my mother, who is also an officiant in Kingston, Ontario and member of the Ontario Humanist Society.

My husband and I met in Vancouver, although he is originally from South Africa.  He is of half black and half Jewish descent and he was born during apartheid in the early 1980’s. We both have a love of travel and adventure and are both outspoken on the importance of equality for all people; gay, straight, black, white, transgender – however you identify – people are just people.

On January 3rd 2019 my husband and I welcomed our first child, Conrad Maurtis Hijmans.  Our lives have changed immeasurably, he is certainly our greatest adventure to date and we love him with everything in us.

7.jpg Conrad Maurtis Hijmans, 2019

paris                Paris



View More: http://nichephoto.pass.us/erin-and-manalto-wedding Picton, ON 2017